Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.
SOLVED!

Duplicate Library Item - Door Leaf

Lingwisyer
Guru
Hi all,

I have an issue with my Door Panel Collection becoming blank when I open a file in which I have duplicated a Custom Door Panel.

The door panel is one that I have scripted to allow for various parameter modifications.

I have not been able to replicate the issue with a door panel that has been built with slabs, etc, then save out as a door panel...

Ling.

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660 
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Barry Kelly
Erwin wrote:
The trick is to set your scripted leaf as a custom leaf as object subtype.
It was the correct "Custom Door Leaf" subtype.

There is a "Door_Panel_Collection" macro that gets create in a hidden user file.
This one gets updated with the new custom panels and is used rather than the one in the library.
So being in a LCF is not the problem.

When I opened your custom made script and a saved as script I noticed a small difference.
In the parameter list of your scripted object there are 2 parameters that have values - one is a GUID.
In the saved as object I noticed these parameters are empty.

So when you duplicate the object it is keeping the same GUID - which I think is the problem.
As soon as I deleted those parameter values (and saved the object) I could duplicate, save and reopen the file and still see all of the custom panels.

Barry.
One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11

View solution in original post

24 REPLIES 24
Barry Kelly
Lingwisyer wrote: