Collaborate forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AC 13: Adding new users to the BIM Server

Karl Ottenstein
Moderator
Adding users and their default roles to the BIM Server is an easy process. Several interesting things are that you can temporarily disable a user's account without deleting their information, and that you can add any data fields you want to all user records, in order to tune the user database to include the data you want for all participants.

This first screenshot shows the Create New User dialog prior to any customization.

Picture 1.png
One of the forum moderators   •   AC 25 USA and earlier   •   MacOS 11.6.2, iMac Pro
3 REPLIES 3

Karl Ottenstein
Moderator
The large white area in the lower part looks like you might be able to type notes into it, but it is actually reserved for custom fields, that you create.

The attached screenshot shows several custom user properties already created, and Nickname about to be created. All properties are text fields.
One of the forum moderators   •   AC 25 USA and earlier   •   MacOS 11.6.2, iMac Pro

Karl Ottenstein
Moderator
Finally, here's the New User dialog after we've added those fields and populated things.

Notice the flyout to disable the account.

There is also an open folder button under the gray silhouette that allows a photo of the user to be included.

The BIM Server itself will send an email to the new user with the password that you create, if you have the checkbox at the top checked. Also, any of this information can be viewed for an active user joined to a project - so besides being able to IM someone from within AC, you can quickly pull up their other contact information if you need to phone them, etc.
One of the forum moderators   •   AC 25 USA and earlier   •   MacOS 11.6.2, iMac Pro

Anonymous
Not applicable
Thank you very much for these postings Karl.

Still looking?

Browse more topics

Back to forum

See latest solutions

Accepted solutions

Start a new discussion!