Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Collaboration with other software
About model and data exchange with 3rd party solutions: Revit, Solibri, dRofus, Bluebeam, structural analysis solutions, and IFC, BCF and DXF/DWG-based exchange, etc.

ArchiCAD to DWG - scale error

BoldArch
Contributor
We have published a series of drawings for our client in both PDF and DWG formats. We have been informed by one of the recipients that there is a scale issue with the DWG files.

The issue seems to be that if we have a 1:500 drawing published to DWG from ArchiCAD, in AutoCAD the "model" is scaled at 1:500. This is to say that if you use the measure tool in AutoCAD, the measured value reads as if the model is drawn to a 1:500 scale. Have attached an image that shows a 50,000mm long segment of boundary modelled in ArchiCAD, measuring at 100mm in AutoCAD.

I have little experience with AutoCAD, but I would assume this is a major issue that we need to solve on the ArchiCAD output end. I would have thought the AutoCAD model space should read at 1:1 scale (as ArchiCAD's model space does), and the drawings be scaled appropriately to fit the required sheet size.

Is this an issue anyone else has come across? Is there something in ArchiCADs translators or export settings that we are getting wrong? Having been notified of this issue, we have reviewed other published DWG files and have realised this issue has occurred for years across many versions of ArchiCAD. Can only assume recipients such as engineers and surveyors have scaled the DWGs on import to suit. We can not expect the same of a client.
Nathan B

Bold Architecture

https://boldmackay.com.au/

AC26 4019 INT FULL • Intel i9-9900 3.6GHz • 32 gb ram • Windows 10 Pro • NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER
AC19-26
5 REPLIES 5
Srinivas
Booster
Namaste,