Collaboration with other software
About model and data exchange with 3rd party solutions: Revit, Solibri, dRofus, Bluebeam, structural analysis solutions, and IFC, BCF and DXF/DWG-based exchange, etc.

ArchiTerra 2 - making parking lots.. best approach?

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello,

Thanks to Fabrizo's patience and excellent responses that I have read on previous posts.. I decided to purchase ArchiTerra 2.0 for myself instead of wading through the mesh tools (I'm a newbie).. so now a bit of a question for you other ArchiTerra users.. Can you outline a process that you have found useful for producing parking lots off of main arterial streets? The site is sloping slightly and the parking lot will follow the grade instead of being completely level across. I am thinking of using the plateau tool and giving values to the angle variable.. any other suggestions?

+pablo
... G5 baby!
6 REPLIES 6
Fabrizio Diodati
Graphisoft Alumni
Graphisoft Alumni
Dear Pablo,

are you trying to simply draw the stripes of your parking lots (and they follow the terrain that already describes the parking lot surface) or do you need to build the parking lot surface itself?

friendly
Fabrizio
Fabrizio Diodati
Graphisoft Italy Srl | Via Rossignago 2/A Spinea Venezia 30038 Italy
Anonymous
Not applicable
Well both eventually.. for now just the surface itself. I heard that you can make an object of the stripe and have it slightly above the parking surface below to simulate stripes.

Thanks!
Karl Ottenstein
Pablo wrote:
Well both eventually.. for now just the surface itself. I heard that you can make an object of the stripe and have it slightly above the parking surface below to simulate stripes.

Thanks!
Rather than making the stripes objects, another opition is to just paint a material that has the stripes where you want them. Look towards the end of:

http://www.archispectives.com/tips/121-textures.htm

(I had posted this to the old list.)

HTH,
Karl
One of the forum moderators