BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Collaboration with other software
About model and data exchange with 3rd party solutions: Revit, Solibri, dRofus, Bluebeam, structural analysis solutions, and IFC, BCF and DXF/DWG-based exchange, etc.

Beginner unable to import IFC object file

Anonymous
Not applicable
I'm not very experienced, but I had hoped I would be able to do this without help. That said, there doesn't seem to be much in the way of tutorials on importing IFC objects since Eric Bowbrow's one from 2013 on version 16. I'm using 21.
Using the interoperability.merge functions I keep being told that my file path is too long or I don't have rights. But if I shorten the file path I get told that I don't have rights or I'm trying to import the wrong IFC type. Since I'm using the standard NBS IFC download, I don't see how that can be?
What am i missing?
Thanks folks
24 REPLIES 24
Anonymous
Not applicable
I expect we could build one up using the standard Archicad window tool, but I just thought that importing a detailed manufacturer’s file would be more accurate and authentic in terms of the details.
Barry Kelly
Possibly, but they won't be parametric objects.
For the small scale documentation (1:100 - 1:50) I would just use any object that does what you want (so long as it looks OK).
They will be adjustable and I don't think you will notice the detail at that size.
For large scale details, I would use the manufacturers details if need be.
I wouldn't be relying on getting large scale details directly from the model - I would use 2D drawings.
I might get the basic structure from the model, but frame and trim details I would create with 2D lines or get them straight from the manufacturer and do a bit of copy & paste.

I guess it all depends on what sort of documentation you are trying to produce.

Barry.
One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27