Collaboration with other software
About model and data exchange with 3rd party solutions: Revit, Solibri, dRofus, Bluebeam, structural analysis solutions, and IFC, BCF and DXF/DWG-based exchange, etc.

Can we work with external database in Archicad

Anonymous
Not applicable
Dear Archicad User

can we work with external database in archicad ?for calculations purpose materials
12 REPLIES 12
Karl Ottenstein
Baheerathan wrote:
Dear Archicad User

can we work with external database in archicad ?for calculations purpose materials
Yes and no (mostly no).

There is no mechanism to directly access an external database, however a programmer can write an add-on/plug-in using the API Software Development Kit to do so. At one point, there was such an add-on available in the US to interface with Timberline Estimating. I have no personal knowledge of that though.

(You can also interface to external files from within a GDL object - but I doubt if that is what you want either.)

The other method is a bit of a kludge and does not yield a live database connection ... but allows you to convert existing data into an ArchiCAD database that can be accessed via the Calculate functions. If you look at your "ArchiCAD Library 10" folder, you'll see a subfolder with "List Templates 10" and then "Property Data 10". Under that, depending on your country, there will be some subfolders for the active "databases" delivered 'out of the box'.

Those 'databases' can be manipulated from the Calculate menu commands... but you'll notice that they are all text files. So, after creating a new database within ArchiCAD, you can convert existing external database content into this ArchiCAD format if that is of any use.

Live connections would be nice. And, if the ODBC interface was made bi-directional (and a version for 10 were delivered), that would be nice too. But, I doubt if GS sees these things as revenue generators, so I don't think we'll see any developments here soon.

Karl