Collaboration with other software
About model and data exchange with 3rd party solutions: Revit, Solibri, dRofus, Bluebeam, structural analysis solutions, and IFC, BCF and DXF/DWG-based exchange, etc.

Creating importable walls/ceilings with custom properties

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello,

I'm a relative novice to ArchiCAD trying to create a suite of systems in XML format (or similar if something else works better). So far I've managed to create composites (with line type, fill and surface) in XML that can be imported via the attribute manager. I am stumped on how to add a wall type with custom properties to an XML file that a separate user could import without any prework.

-I've looked into linking property objects to composites by name but I don't think this works with actual system properties like Fire Rating, it would just be attaching quantifiers (which are useless to me) or general descriptors.
-I've looked into the import/export property values option in the interoperability menu but this won't create new walls or assign new properties, only alter the already assigned properties.
-I've looked into the import BIM content option which almost always gives an error for containing material already in the project and requires the file be in PLN, PLA, BPN or TPL format which are nearly 10MB each and would accumulate to too much storage for the size of library I'm making.

Is there something I'm not looking into that could accomplish what I'm trying to do?
5 REPLIES 5
Erwin Edel
Rockstar
Try exporting to .AAT file format from the attribute manager in ArchiCAD. Composites should be able to export with building materials, fills, surfaces and such. I believe some manufacturers offer content through this for metal stud walls and the like through for example www.bimobject.com
Erwin Edel, Project Lead, Leloup Architecten
www.leloup.nl

ArchiCAD 9-26NED FULL
Windows 10 Pro
Adobe Design Premium CS5
Anonymous
Not applicable
Thanks for your reply Erwin,