Collaborate forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FBX or Twinmotion for ArchiCAD 25

Rex Maximilian
Newcomer
When will we see an export option to FBX or Twinmotion for ArchiCAD 25? At the very least, FBX (generic) should be included on the day a new version ships as it has become an industry standard for 3D import into rendering packages.
Rex Maximilian, Honolulu, USA - www.rexmaximilian.com
ArchiCAD 23/24 (user since 3.4, 1991)
27" iMac (2019), 8-core 3.6 Ghz i9 processor, 40GB RAM, 1.5TB SSD, Radeon Pro Vega 48 (8GB)
Creator of the Maximilian ArchiCAD Template System
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Solution
Aaron Bourgoin
Booster
Epic have just provided the final versions of the twinmotion/datasmith connections.

https://www.unrealengine.com/en-US/datasmith/plugins

versions for 23, 24 and 25
Think Like a Spec Writer
AC23-3003 USA / AC24-4018 USA
Rhino 7 Mac
OSX 10.14.6 & 11.3.1

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12

Solution
Aaron Bourgoin
Booster
Epic have just provided the final versions of the twinmotion/datasmith connections.

https://www.unrealengine.com/en-US/datasmith/plugins

versions for 23, 24 and 25
Think Like a Spec Writer
AC23-3003 USA / AC24-4018 USA
Rhino 7 Mac
OSX 10.14.6 & 11.3.1

View solution in original post

Rex Maximilian
Newcomer
Aaron wrote:
Epic have just provided the final versions of the twinmotion/datasmith connections.

https://www.unrealengine.com/en-US/datasmith/plugins

versions for 23, 24 and 25
I saw that. Will try it out. However, nothing beats saving out to FBX as we could do in earlier ArchiCAD versions. I hope the datasmith plugin still allows it. Thx!
Rex Maximilian, Honolulu, USA - www.rexmaximilian.com
ArchiCAD 23/24 (user since 3.4, 1991)
27" iMac (2019), 8-core 3.6 Ghz i9 processor, 40GB RAM, 1.5TB SSD, Radeon Pro Vega 48 (8GB)
Creator of the Maximilian ArchiCAD Template System

Rex Maximilian
Newcomer
It appears saving as FBX is out, which is a bummer because it is a universal format for 3D model interchange. But, you can save as a .udatasmith solo file and import into Twinmotion using conventional importation methods.

There's been previous discussions on the TM FB forum as to why FBX (or traditional export/import) is advantageous over direct link methods.
Rex Maximilian, Honolulu, USA - www.rexmaximilian.com
ArchiCAD 23/24 (user since 3.4, 1991)
27" iMac (2019), 8-core 3.6 Ghz i9 processor, 40GB RAM, 1.5TB SSD, Radeon Pro Vega 48 (8GB)
Creator of the Maximilian ArchiCAD Template System

rjwilden
Contributor
I found the direct link very unreliable, multiple crashes. FBX export very much better. Has the direct link in 25 become more stable. Will not upgrade to 25 until there is certainty with this, as TM cloud is my preferred method of presentation.
Richard Wilden Design. Ltd
Dunedin, New Zealand.
Imac 27" i9 3.6GHz; 32GB Ram Mac OS 11.3
Archicad V23:V24

Mjules
Booster
We also need the latest update displayed on the following web page: https://graphisoft.com/downloads/addons/datasmith-exporter
Martin Luther Jules
AC 10-25 (Full)
Alienware | 64 GB RAM | Windows 10

Barry Kelly
Moderator
rjwilden wrote:
Has the direct link in 25 become more stable.

Apparently there is no 'Direct Link' with 25.
You have to use the Datasmith add-on.
The one for 25 was in preview until just a few days ago.
The release version can be found here as Aaron posted earlier.

https://www.unrealengine.com/en-US/datasmith/plugins

Barry.

One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 25
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 10

Laszlo Nagy
Community Admin
Community Admin
The Release Notes page states that the Datasmith Exporter does provide a direct link to both the Unreal Engine and Twinmotion. Or do I misunderstand something?:

Unreal Engine 4.27 brings with it a new Datasmith Exporter for Archicad, the popular architectural CAD software by Graphisoft. The plugin provides support for the Datasmith Direct Link workflow, allowing Archicad users to synchronize their application with Unreal Engine and Twinmotion; as well as the ability to export data in the .udatasmith file format.

https://docs.unrealengine.com/4.27/en-US/WhatsNew/Builds/ReleaseNotes/4_27/#datasmithexporterpluginf...
....................................................................................................
Laszlo Nagy, Lead Moderator, Community Admin
Get Archicad Tips at https://twitter.com/laszlonagy
AMD Ryzen 1700X CPU, 48 GB RAM, NVidia GTX 1060 6GB, 500 GB NVMe SSD
2x28" (2560x1440), WIN10 PRO ENG, AC20-AC25
Loving Archicad since 1995

Barry Kelly
Moderator
When I say 'Direct Link', I mean the 'Direct Link' add-on.
That is not available for 25 as far as I know.

The Datasmith workflow is a little different I think - although I have not tried it yet.
The old 'Direct Link' would actually start Twinmotion and load the Archicad model.
And the Twinmotion Model could be syncronised directly from Archicad.

I don't think the Datasmith add-on works quite the same.

Barry.

One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 25
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Dell Precision 3510 - i7 6820HQ @ 2.70GHz, 16GB RAM, AMD FirePro W5130M, Windows 10

Laszlo Nagy
Community Admin
Community Admin
Then maybe it is this one:

https://www.unrealengine.com/en-US/twinmotion/plugins?lang=en

There is also a video about how to use the Direct Link. The video shows Revit, but it is probably the same workflow with Archicad:

....................................................................................................
Laszlo Nagy, Lead Moderator, Community Admin
Get Archicad Tips at https://twitter.com/laszlonagy
AMD Ryzen 1700X CPU, 48 GB RAM, NVidia GTX 1060 6GB, 500 GB NVMe SSD
2x28" (2560x1440), WIN10 PRO ENG, AC20-AC25
Loving Archicad since 1995

scom570
Contributor
Just updated my model to AC25 but the linking crashes ArchiCAD everytime.
Did uninstall and reinstall of the Datasmith to no avail.

BTW to get the link to work:

Open TM to IMPORT

Open AC model to 3D window. (If you don't see the Datasmith plugin you can activate it from
WINDOW, PALETTES, DATASMITH.)
The refresh icon only activates when in 3D Window.

On TM click IMPORT and Select IMPORT DIRECT LINK

A window pops up that shows the available filename of the AC drawing you have open. Click OK.

Voila, you are connected.

When you want to update the TM, select refresh on DATASMITH toolbar in AC.

Works for me in AC24 but not AC25 which crashes everytime.

Not sure if Datasmith link or direct link is better just yet but I do see how it might be more flexible for UE.

Tim Ball
Booster
I can find the Datasmith add on but when I try to add to the menu bar nothing happens.
Has anyone got a step by step install worked out yet?
Tim Ball
AC24, iMac
User since V5

Nguyen Minh
Graphisoft Moderator
Graphisoft Moderator
scom570 wrote:
Just updated my model to AC25 but the linking crashes ArchiCAD everytime.
Did uninstall and reinstall of the Datasmith to no avail.

BTW to get the link to work:

Open TM to IMPORT

Open AC model to 3D window. (If you don't see the Datasmith plugin you can activate it from
WINDOW, PALETTES, DATASMITH.)
The refresh icon only activates when in 3D Window.

On TM click IMPORT and Select IMPORT DIRECT LINK

A window pops up that shows the available filename of the AC drawing you have open. Click OK.

Voila, you are connected.

When you want to update the TM, select refresh on DATASMITH toolbar in AC.

Works for me in AC24 but not AC25 which crashes everytime.

Not sure if Datasmith link or direct link is better just yet but I do see how it might be more flexible for UE.
Hello,

Thank you for the report and I am very sorry to hear about it!

If I understand correctly, the same model doesn't crash when linking AC24 and Twinmotion, but with AC25 it crashes every time? Did you keep the bug ID from one of the crash? I would like to know whether the issue comes from the addon or from Archicad.

Looking forward to hearing from you!
Best regards,
Minh

Minh Nguyen
Technical Support Engineer
GRAPHISOFT

Still looking?

Browse more topics

Back to forum

See latest solutions

Accepted solutions

Start a new discussion!