BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Collaboration with other software
About model and data exchange with 3rd party solutions: Revit, Solibri, dRofus, Bluebeam, structural analysis solutions, and IFC, BCF and DXF/DWG-based exchange, etc.

From Archicad to Rhino : Textures and Texture Mapping

Anonymous
Not applicable
I just opened the Tutorial files for the Third Tutorial Series ( the small house - TS03_complete file ) as a text for something. I am trying to find a good workflow that includes the software I'm experienced with ( Rhino and VRay for Rhino ), with Archicad, and in Parallel, I'm studying Revit and 3DS Max.

The idea is to have one seamless workflow from concept to design to presentation. So far, Archicad is a lot more friendly for architecture work, and quite friendly. And the Rhino connection is a serious plus. I am used to rendering in Rhino, and being able to create the small detail precision designs in Rhino, where I have good experience, is dreamy. And the Grasshopper connection is also a plus.

But when it comes to delivering on the other side, to go back to Rhino, for higher resolution rendering, with VRay, there is a problem, which I'd very much appreciate the community help with. That is:

Even tho the geometry is exported, the textures are missing. The tutorial house comes out as one-color objects. I have tried all the possible Solid/Surface and Mesh/BREP combinations, and if my intent is simply using Rhino instead of 3D Max ( and due to learning curve issues and license issues, it is advantageous to me to use Rhino for Rendering ), texture data is lost.