Collaboration with other software
About model and data exchange with 3rd party solutions: Revit, Solibri, dRofus, Bluebeam, structural analysis solutions, and IFC, BCF and DXF/DWG-based exchange, etc.

From Vectorworks to Archicad?

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello, I am considering switching from Vectorworks Architect (International) to Archicad.

Can anyone share a similar experience?
Where did you have most difficulties?
Are there different language versions including localized packages?

I am an European architect in DE, standard praxis, BIM Professional (TU München). I can use Vectorworks well (maintained for years a programming site for Vectorscript and such things) and would love to learn GDL too, at one point.
24 REPLIES 24
Sunny75
Booster
We switched from Vectorworks to Archicad 1 year ago, and did not regret it at all. There is a learning curve, sure, but working in 3d is so much more intuitive.
runxel
Legend
There are localized versions, including a german one. There is even a german forum. The localized version also come with slightly different libraries, filled with objects (think of symbols in VW terms), including windows and doors. Most offices build their own libraries over time.

There are some small differences, like Archicad has no classes, only layers. But most people are confused by VW's system anyhow, so it's rather easy to switch this way then the other way around.
In general you will feel at home quite fast. Also working in 3D is now an easy and fun thing to do.
Lucas Becker | AC 27 on Mac | Author of Runxel's Archicad Wiki | Editor at SelfGDL | Developer of the GDL plugin for Sublime Text |
«Furthermore, I consider that Carth... yearly releases must be destroyed»
It depends on how you're using Vectorworks at the moment (either primarily as a 2D drafting and documenting tool or as a (quasi-) BIM 3D modeling and documentation tool like they seem to be trying to drive the program to be).