BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Collaboration with other software
About model and data exchange with 3rd party solutions: Revit, Solibri, dRofus, Bluebeam, structural analysis solutions, and IFC, BCF and DXF/DWG-based exchange, etc.

Importing .dwg and separating layers

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi,

I'm new to all this - a student learning on his own. I'm using v8.1 and a friend has given me a .dwg site plan file to use for experimentation.

The survey was given to my friend by a surveyor and he then used AutoCAD to continue onwards from there.

I am perhaps laboring under a naieve assumption that .dwg files contain layers and that it is possible, upon import into AC to have the layers separated.

I'd like to be able to delete some existing labels on the plan and substitute labels which are more descriptive, but I can't separate the survey layer from my friend's work (the comment I want to change are on this layer).

Could someone please point me to a reference on this or possibly explain where my thinking is incorrect and what I have to do to overcome this difficulty?

Thanks.
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable
If the DWG file has layers, those layers are brought into Archicad. Are you on the Student version of Archicad? I recall some issues related to DWG files on the student version - I believe you are unable to export to DWG. Perhaps the issues are related.
Anonymous
Not applicable
Yes, I'm using the student version of v8.1.
I thought the restriction was on export, not import.

I have done Options-->Layers-->Show All Layers but perhaps my navigation knowledge in AC is lacking.....I can't find a way to access the layer.

I've been using the Quick Layers pallette to try and access the text layer. Maybe that's not the way to do it.
Ben Odonnell
Contributor
If you hit crtl+L you will get you layer list up. You can see a list of all layers used in the DWG file.

Cheers.
Ben