BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Project data & BIM
About BIM-based management of attributes, schedules, templates, favorites, hotlinks, projects in general, quality assurance, etc.

Is it best work from standard or obtain a prepared template?

Dennis Hellyar
Newcomer
I'm new to archicad and have decided to use it as my main cad software for my practice. Can anyone advise me please - is it better to function using the standard uk template or would it be better to function using a prepared template, obtained from one of the more well known trainers, such as the US master template by Eric bobrow to name but one? Any advice on this would be appreciated.
Dennis Hellyar
8 REPLIES 8
Stress Co_
Advisor
I think the U.S. out-of-the-box "template" is best described as ...
something you would need to scrape off the bottom of your shoe,
if you stepped on it sitting in the grass.

Check out Jared's template here:
SHOEGNOME
Marc Corney, Architect
Red Canoe Architecture, P. A.

Mac OS 10.15.7 (Catalina) //// Mac OS 14.2.1 (Sonoma)
Processor: 3.6 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9 //// Apple M2 Max
Memory: 48 GB 2667 MHz DDR4 //// 32 GB
Graphics: Radeon Pro 580X 8GB //// 12C CPU, 30C GPU
ArchiCAD 25 (5010 USA Full) //// ArchiCAD 27 (4030 USA Full)
Dennis Hellyar
Newcomer
OK thanks for the reply. This would be a US template and I guess would follow US standards in terms layers, units, etc. Do you think the benefits of this outweigh the fact these standards would be foreign to me? I sought some advice from a licensed graphisoft agent here and they thought I should stick to AC v18 UK standard template. Any thoughts?
Dennis Hellyar
Karl Ottenstein
I don't see any US standards in the Shoegnome template. But, it is oriented towards the US library and Imperial measurements as would be the Bobrow template, too, I assume.