Collaboration with other software
About model and data exchange with 3rd party solutions: Revit, Solibri, dRofus, Bluebeam, structural analysis solutions, and IFC, BCF and DXF/DWG-based exchange, etc.

Missing vertex in ArchiCAD models?

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi all, I'm new to AC and have just been playing around with it for a bit. I always render in 3ds max, so have been testing how compatible AC is with exporting to max.

I have come across a strange problem, that when I have a wall with either 2 windows or 2 doors, that are parallel to each other. If I export to 3ds max as a .3ds (or dwg/dxf/obj) I find that the wall face is split into 2 polygons. This would normally be ok, but if I move the polygon I find that it is missing a vertex. Basically it’s an edge that passes through another edge, without being connected. This creates problems further down the line for me unless I fix it, in max. But this could be become very time consuming, as you can imagine doing each, one by one. I have not seen this problem before using ADT. So assume that ArchiCAD is generating poor models. I would like to know if it’s possible to edit or control the way ArchiCAD is generating its models? Or anything else that would help.

Thanks

I have attached 2 images from max to illustrate the problem more clearly
11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Not applicable
Anyone? Is this posted in the correct section?
Anonymous
Not applicable
Raphael wrote:
Anyone? Is this posted in the correct section?
I think you are in the right section.

Anyway, when I look at the wall in your post I see this strange line (see below); do you have 2 empty openings overlapping? 2 walls overlapping?

Draw a marquee to include the 2 openings.
Activate the door tool and go to Edit/Select All Doors in Marquee
Activate the arrow tool and go to Edit/Select All in Marquee
(do not ask why a "Select All in Marquee" doesn't get the doors or windows when the arrow tool is active)

Now go to Edit/Edit selection Set.