Collaboration with other software
About model and data exchange with 3rd party solutions: Revit, Solibri, dRofus, Bluebeam, structural analysis solutions, and IFC, BCF and DXF/DWG-based exchange, etc.

Starter metric template

aabdelrehim
Participant

Hi everyone, I am very new to Archicad and has been working with shoegnome's free template as a start for my small projects. 

any suggestions for a more comprehensive template? and not too expensive, i'm egyptian and the exchange rate is beyond crazy. 

Thanks in advance

3 REPLIES 3
Barry Kelly

In my opinion you are better of creating your own template.

Use Shoegnome's as a start.

If you don't quite like the layers, add or delete your own or change their names.

Need new composites, create your own.

If you want different pen colours, change them to what you want.

Basically work through the entire template and set everything up as you want it.

Yes it is a big job, and you will never truly finish setting it up.

I am still tweaking mine after 20 odd years.

If you are working purely for yourself that is what I would do.

If you are going to be collaborating with others, then you may want to look into some kind of national CAD standard, maybe your local Archicad support can help with this.

Or get information on what the others you will work with have set up - maybe they already have a template they can share so you are on the same page so to speak.

Unless you have to collaborate with others, I believe you are better of setting up your own template.

I don't think there is any template out there (free or for purchase) that will actually suit what you want.

But that is just my opinion.

Unless you want to work in the way someone else is telling you to.

Barry.

One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11

Thank you a lot Barry. 

Erwin Edel
Rockstar