Collaboration with other software
About model and data exchange with 3rd party solutions: Revit, Solibri, dRofus, Bluebeam, structural analysis solutions, and IFC, BCF and DXF/DWG-based exchange, etc.

Window schedule-group ref & ID to display & link to marker

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi All,

I am a bit new to all this so hopefully I am not covering old ground.
I am trying to get a proper automated link between my windows and the schedule. When I do these manually I have on my marker a reference to the window type and well as a unique number (ID). Moving to the schedule I then have elements listed by type with numbers of each. It's then clear to the contractor when he's looking at the plan drawing which window types he is looking at and he can cross-ref to the schedule.

I have no problem to list the ID on the marker and then in the schedule I can list windows by type. To get me closer to my objective, I have then used the 'User Defined' fields in the Parameters for Listing in my Window Settings to create fields for Window Type which I have then assigned to the schedule. However there does not seem to be any way to create a custom marker that draws on the Window Type info to link the two together. I have looked at the GDL code for windows but I can't seem to find any reference to the User Defined fields I used to store my Window Type data.

Am I going about this the wrong way? Is there a better way to do this?
I spent hours on this last night and am up against a brick wall!

Thank you!
7 REPLIES 7
sinceV6
Advocate
Hello.

I don't quite get the clear idea of what you want. I get the window, ID and user defined fields thing; but... you are talking about several different things: schedules, markers and (from what I can understand) labels.

Are you trying to show the user defined fields in schedules? You'll need to add object parameter data to the schedule.