BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Project data & BIM
About BIM-based management of attributes, schedules, templates, favorites, hotlinks, projects in general, quality assurance, etc.

Work remotely across the Atlantic

zoli79
Booster
About half a year ago I moved back to Hungary. The office I worked at in Sacramento, CA wanted to keep working with me. The plan was to go with VPN. Unfortunately what works OK locally doesn't work across the pond.
Although I was their BIM manager in the last year, I am an architect, not an IT person, so I can't even phrase the exact issue. But I see that our IT people have no idea how to solve this. Actually they gave up, and I have been using remote desktop in the past 5 months and while I can make useful work with background cleaning in projects and managing, production work is almost impossible (grabbing a line and moving it).
Back to VPN: I can make connection, but the connection itself is so slow, that even downloading a project doesn't even happen.
Our office uses MAC-s, they mainly operate in one office, I am the only regular person working outside. Every now and then others join in from home a few miles away - with no serious issues.
IT says that the tradeoff between Europe and US makes the connection slow down extremely.

I dug into Graphisoft's Cloud option, but that won't work for several reasons.
I generally need access to their server files, not just the BIM server.

Are there others here who work in an office with people remoting from another continent? Preferably US-EU. Could someone recommend what to look into?
macOS Ventura, ArchiCAD 26 - USA version
2 REPLIES 2
Anonymous
Not applicable