Collaboration with other software
About model and data exchange with 3rd party solutions: Revit, Solibri, dRofus, Bluebeam, structural analysis solutions, and IFC, BCF and DXF/DWG-based exchange, etc.

Snow Leopard Installation CAUTION

Karl Ottenstein
Moderator
I'm re-posting Gergely Kmethy's posts here as a 'sticky' to increase the likelihood that Mac users will see them:

Originally here:
http://archicad-talk.graphisoft.com/viewtopic.php?p=152464#152464
gkmethy wrote:
A word of warning: Our developers have identified a bug in Snow Leopard that may cause crash in ArchiCAD. The unpredictable nature of this bug causes that the crashes are infrequent, random, and unrelated to any specific user action. If you have not yet upgraded to 10.6, we recommend to wait until this problem is addressed by Apple. See details in the updated wiki article:
http://archicadwiki.com/SnowLeopard

Gergely Kmethy
Team Leader, Technical Support Team
Graphisoft, Hungary
gkmethy wrote:
We are also investigating if this bug found by Adobe is affecting ArchiCAD or not:
http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/506/cpsid_50654.html

Gergely Kmethy
Team Leader, Technical Support Team
Graphisoft, Hungary
One of the forum moderators
AC 27 USA and earlier   •   macOS Ventura 13.6.3, MacBook Pro M2 Max 12CPU/30GPU cores, 32GB
14 REPLIES 14
Greg Kmethy
Graphisoft
Graphisoft
I have updated the http://archicadwiki.com/SnowLeopard article. Unfortunately, we keep finding 10.6 specific bugs.
Gergely Kmethy
VP, Customer Success, Graphisoft
Eduardo Rolon
Moderator
I found that the F2 shortcut does not work(is ignored) using a MacBook Pro. My desktop works ok with it.

Work around is to add a modifier key to the shortcut.
Eduardo Rolón AIA NCARB
AC27 US/INT -> AC08

Macbook Pro M1 Max 64GB ram, OS X 10.XX latest
another Moderator

Greg Kmethy
Graphisoft
Graphisoft
The "random crashes" problem is now fixed by the 10.6.1 system upgrade. It's now safe using ArchiCAd on 10.6.1, but do read the other warnings on http://archicadwiki.com/SnowLeopard
Gergely Kmethy
VP, Customer Success, Graphisoft
Eduardo Rolon
Moderator
Found the problem with the F2 shortcut.

Besides changing the Keyboard Preferences to use F# as Function keys there is a keyboard shortcut specified that overrides the setting. Look for a Monitor Settings shortcut in the "Keyboard Shortcuts" Tab. AFAIK this affects only for the Macbooks.
Eduardo Rolón AIA NCARB
AC27 US/INT -> AC08

Macbook Pro M1 Max 64GB ram, OS X 10.XX latest
another Moderator

Anonymous
Not applicable
Running on an macbook pro core2. AC12 has been running fine on Tiger. Updated to SL 6.1 to install AC13. Crashing at app launch of both AC12 & AC13. another post recommended reinstalling SL.
OK, reinstalled OS SL.
Ran software update to 6.1
dumped all the com.grahisoft.plist
Trashed AC13.
Reinstalled AC13.

Here is the error that console returns:

10/3/09 17:56:02 [0x0-0x20020].com.graphisoft.ArchiCAD[268] 3Dconnexion framework not found!
10/3/09 17:56:15 [0x0-0x20020].com.graphisoft.ArchiCAD[268] Unable to install Tdx device event handler (err = 4294967295)
10/3/09 17:56:15 [0x0-0x20020].com.graphisoft.ArchiCAD[268] [268] IFC_Common::CheckEnvironment()
10/3/09 17:56:15 [0x0-0x20020].com.graphisoft.ArchiCAD[268] [268] IFC_2x3::CheckEnvironment()
10/3/09 17:56:21 [0x0-0x20020].com.graphisoft.ArchiCAD[268] [268] IFC_Common::RegisterInterface()
10/3/09 17:56:21 [0x0-0x20020].com.graphisoft.ArchiCAD[268] [268] IFC_2x3::RegisterInterface()
10/3/09 17:56:25 [0x0-0x20020].com.graphisoft.ArchiCAD[268] [268] URLAccess version 0.0
10/3/09 17:56:33 [0x0-0x20020].com.graphisoft.ArchiCAD[268] [268] ====>GeneralSignalHandler received signal=8
10/3/09 17:56:34 [0x0-0x20020].com.graphisoft.ArchiCAD[268] [268] ArchiCAD [268] crashed with signal 8. Report written to: /Users/kpeacock/Library/Application Support/Graphisoft/BugReporting-13/ArchiCAD-20091003(21-56-00)-[268].rpt
10/3/09 17:56:48 /Applications/GraphiSoft/ArchiCAD 13/GSReport.app/Contents/MacOS/GSReport[278] GetDYLDEntryPointWithImage(/System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/OSServices.framework/Versions/A/OSServices,15) failed.
10/3/09 17:56:52 com.apple.launchd.peruser.501[95] ([0x0-0x20020].com.graphisoft.ArchiCAD[268]) Job appears to have crashed: Floating point exception

AC11 runs great! but i would like to run AC13!
does anyone have help here?
Thanks,
aahatimo
Newcomer
keith,
hope you have solved your problems!
still holding out on putting either disk into my mbp(ac v13 or sl 10.6)
have you tried v 13 without your 5d connection device. think i saw someplace they are not supported by v 13.
tim hanagan
aaha! design studio durango, co
27" retina 5k iMac 4ghz i7 os 10.13.6 m395x 4 mb, 32gb ram, 512 gb ssd ac 22 current
15" retina mbp 2.6ghz 1mb 16gb ac 22 current[/size]
Anonymous
Not applicable
Well that's the funny thing. I do not have the 5d interface controller, never did. So why is AC looking for it?
The answer would be NO on AC 12 or 13 working on my MBP with sl 6.1.
I spoke tech support in San Francisco on Monday they have the bug reports but nothing back yet.

I may attempt a clean wipe and install of osSL on Monday if I still get no response form GraphiSoft US.

thanks,
Anonymous
Not applicable
I was googling about "Snow Leopard problems" last night and think this is enlightening and might help some users of SL:

http://www.ilounge.com/index.php/backstage/comments/two-proposed-solutions-to-snow-leopard-crash-pro...

It reports that lots of people are having all kinds of problems with SL, that 10.6.2 has solved some but not all, and shows two ways to clear up problems in OSX settings that work for many folks. Check it out.
Anonymous
Not applicable

Doug,
you are a genius!!!
AC13 now runs on my MBP running SL6.1

as from www.ilounge.com:
http://www.ilounge.com/index.php/backstage/comments/two-proposed-solutions-to-snow-leopard-crash-pro...
Solution (a), from reader Darren:

“I have had no end of problems, especially with Safari, since upgrading to Snow Leopard and now ALL MY PROBLEMS HAVE BEEN SOLVED by a simple boot into safe mode then reboot. For those that don’t know how to do it, reboot your mac and hold down the shift key until it shows the apple symbol in the middle and a grey or black progress bar starts then release. When it boots up you should notice it says safe mode, test, Safari mainly in my case, or what ever and if it all works just reboot without holding the shift key, Job sorted. What I’m told you are doing is re-writing all the permissions from scratch, mine is like it used to be, fantastic and with Snow Leopard.”

thank you,

Start a new conversation!

Still looking?

Browse more topics

Back to forum

See latest solutions

Accepted solutions

Start a new discussion!