Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

2D Symbol Insertion Point using GDL scripting

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to GDL and scripting in Archicad all together but I'm in urgent need of creating this specific type of door for my project. This door began as a Revit door which I was able to import using the Import RFA as GDL plugin. I was able to tidy up the door and I'm fairly happy with it but I also wanted to add an extra feature in the door's settings to be able to switch between the door's level of detail of its 2D symbol in plan view.

Revit has the ability to show coarse, medium and fine views of its elements. If you look at what I'm trying to do, I've added some scripting where I can choose between 3 levels of details. I then exported the door's 2d symbol from Revit for all 3 settings, saved each as an object in Archicad and was able to copy the 2D code that defines each symbol.

My issue is now how do I make each symbol insert and snap to the overall door's width and thickness? If you look at my screenshots, the symbols just float because the code is currently picking a random x and y insertion points. Can anyone help me, please?

Thanks
19 REPLIES 19
Barry Kelly
I am not sure how this is going to work for you as there is quite a bit to door and window objects.

But the line ...

ADD2 -0, -0 
Is the one that will move the lines created by the following code.
That code should be followed by a ...
DEL 1
to undo the move ready for the next bit of code.

You can measure in the 2D preview window so you can see what values to use for the x and y co-ordinates in the ADD2 command.

Barry.