Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

Animating custom objects on Flythrough

Anonymous
Not applicable
First off, I've been visiting your website quite a bit over the last months... I'm still quite new to Archicad, so thanks for a very informative forum!

What brought me here is a question about the ability to use gdl scripting to animate objects (opening drawers, cabinets, trolleys, etc.) during a flythrough... I am able to do this with doors, but custom library objects are never saved with the necessary parameters.

Is there any sort of tutorial about doing this?

Thank you, best,

Josef.

PS: I don't know how I missed this one-liner before (so thanks!), but if there is something a little more elaborate, that would be great, too. Thanks!

http://archicad-talk.graphisoft.com/viewtopic.php?p=204266
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable
I have made quite a bit of progress since yesterday... it took me a while to understand that every object is at 'position zero' unless told (scripted) otherwise, and do not 'stay in place' once moved.

That aside, I've found an oddness that's a bit irksome: as soon as I animate an object, it loses its floor-plan outline (and it is reduced to a single dot in the object overview).
Karl Ottenstein
ThePromenader wrote:
That aside, I've found an oddness that's a bit irksome: as soon as I animate an object, it loses its floor-plan outline (and it is reduced to a single dot in the object overview).
Adding the code in the link you found is indeed how you animate... and the 3D window must be rebuilt for the objects to move in a flythrough (must check the flythrough box to rebuild for each frame).