Design forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archicad 25

Narska
Booster
Where can I find a list of what new goodies we can expect in the next version of archicad?
Tomasz Mlynarski
New York based Architect
184 REPLIES 184

Podolsky
Newcomer
avava wrote:
Podolsky wrote:
As expected - this is kitchen cabinet (new one). How to make a hole for sink in upper panel if I'm using separate slab for worktop? Because I'm not using built-in worktop (counter), option to select sink is not available. That means I probably need to use SEO after to extract shape of sink from a cabinet. This problem existed ages - and now, after major update of kitchen cabinets is still there. WHY???
To be happy, just use Solid Element Operations.
But this is not the point. What to do if you need to make manufacturing drawings for kitchen cabinets? Where then BIM in all that? Without important updates it's possible then stick to old versions. What the point if new version actually do the same as previous? Then nothing apart new troubles with bugs and crashes new version is not bringing.
I mean really. It's possible to get then version 10 for free and work there. Built there powerful GDL tools, reorganise everything, build software that actually works for your business and rest - then it just not needed noise. If we are not paying for software, programmers and company managers and engineers are not getting salaries. And not able to work. But if they, working and getting paid, constantly do something you would never expect and opposite never do that you are waiting for - why then be bothered about all that.
What usually happens in regular life - if I don't like pizza - I'm returning it. Nobody can force me to eat what I don't like. Why then in software we are forced to use features we are disagree with? Who then know these things better - users or creators?
Another question I'm asking myself, why not to launch special program from Graphisoft, where registered users can take part in developing future versions - as designers of systems, not programmers, similar way how happens registration of Add-ons development?
It's possible to set special online tests about system functionality knowledge, as passing exam. Have internal discussion boards there, access to confidential information... Or even make future development process more transparent and open to public.
Many things can be done in this matter. I understand that this means reorganisation of the company, but even big companies and technologies do that this day - it's like switching new Apple to M1 chip.

Pink Projects
Newcomer
I was ecstatic to finally get textures elevations, sections, interior elevations. HOWEVER, as is usually the case—it was not thoughtfully implemented. Having this setting embedded in the actual marker does not allow for toggling between "presentation" drawings and "construction" drawings. This is incredibly short-sighted. Do we now need to duplicate the many, many, many interior elevation markers in a project to be able to have the ability to show both styles? Do we need to make a "jump" at some point in the project to turn off all the textures for our annotated construction drawings?

Bummer.

bouhmidage
Enthusiast
I think the "Sink " empty panel is not a real problem, if someone with good GDL knowledge can have a look to the babinet script, he can create a button to activate or disactivate the topper wood panel,
if it's possible, than he can share the script lines ( if he wants of course ) and GRAPHISOFT would add it to it's default library
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X, 32 GB RAM, RTX 3080 10 GB

Archicad 23

Windows 10 professional

https://www.behance.net/Nuance-Architects

Podolsky
Newcomer
adrian_s wrote:
The textured elevations are fantastic. Well done GS team.
Not so much. I cannot use textured elevation in my project for construction package as good as before. Everyone can agree with me it's better to have just one Elevation in the project. For example I've got North elevation. Then if I'm publishing textured elevation as part of presentation I would like to use the same drawing for construction, but change layer combination, differed MVO, scale and Graphical Override. The point is, that I can change textured fills into another fill - let say white background. But I cannot keep vectoral hatches and shadows. Please correct me if I'm wrong.
Another problem that still exists - graphical override fill still not following origin of fill that going to be replaced - like if I want to replace some typical fill with texture fill.
There is no global control to show or hide texture fills through the whole project. I cannot pre-set that all elevations would instantly change their look.
Probably it's worth to introduce MVO parameter to control such a things - having control of MVO of plans, sections, elevations and interior elevations as separate parameters. I guess there it would be possible also to control zone stamps in sections, as it happens now in plans.

Podolsky
Newcomer
bouhmidage wrote:
I think the "Sink " empty panel is not a real problem, if someone with good GDL knowledge can have a look to the babinet script, he can create a button to activate or disactivate the topper wood panel,
if it's possible, than he can share the script lines ( if he wants of course ) and GRAPHISOFT would add it to it's default library
No way. Look how complicated interface of cabinets. And how many pages, inserted pages there in UI. If I would write my library I was replacing totally everything. All basic principles how such an object would work.

jl_lt
Contributor
Pink wrote:
I was ecstatic to finally get textures elevations, sections, interior elevations. HOWEVER, as is usually the case—it was not thoughtfully implemented. Having this setting embedded in the actual marker does not allow for toggling between "presentation" drawings and "construction" drawings. This is incredibly short-sighted. Do we now need to duplicate the many, many, many interior elevation markers in a project to be able to have the ability to show both styles? Do we need to make a "jump" at some point in the project to turn off all the textures for our annotated construction drawings?

Bummer.
thats certainly a downer. can graphic overrides override this setting? so one can at least work with just lines by cloning a folder instead of duplicating the markers, which is very inconvenient.

outpostarc
Newcomer
So the question for the Mac users is this version (25) fully apple chip (m1 m2 or whatever) compliant?
Mark Gillis | Architect
CJMW Architecture

ArchiCad 24 | Mac/Windows - user since 1991

Eduardo Rolon
Moderator
outpostarc wrote:
So the question for the Mac users is this version (25) fully apple chip (m1 m2 or whatever) compliant?
Nope,
eduardo rolón AIA NCARB
Another of the forum moderators.
Macbook Pro 2.4 i9 32GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC25 US/INT -> AC08

jl_lt
Contributor
so, for the guys that have already downloaded it, is it stable and fast at least?

Eduardo Rolon
Moderator
jl_lt wrote:
so, for the guys that have already downloaded it, is it stable and fast at least?
Yes.
eduardo rolón AIA NCARB
Another of the forum moderators.
Macbook Pro 2.4 i9 32GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC25 US/INT -> AC08

Podolsky
Newcomer
So. I installed Revit. Wanted to see - what's new in AC about Revit files.
1. I cannot open RVT file directly. What web-site is saying 'Re-use previous project files while migrating from Revit to ArchiCAD'. Logically thinking - I'm Revit user. Made a project in Revit. I want to re-use my model and continue working in ArchiCAD. What I expect? That I can just open my Revit file in ArchiCAD and continue working. No, I cannot. I can only attach as hotlink. But I cannot do that, because project was made in Revit 2022 and ArchiCAD reads up to version 2021. Revit does not have file version downgrade - that means I cannot re-use my Revit project, as stated in AC 25 introduction.
2. Interesting what will happen if I managed to get version 2021 RVT, attach as hotlink and after would like to break hotlink. Anyone tried? Unfortunately I don't have power to search and install for version 2021, I already waited 30 minutes installing Revit. Absolutely logically that if I'm getting latest version of ArchiCAD, it must work with the latest version of Revit. Especially when latest version of Revit introduced 3 months before.
3. No improvement to RFA - still ArchiCAD is not reading RFA parameters - means converted RFA objects are static and not parametric. That means not always you will get from that what you wanted. RFA are not so much parametric as GDL, but still they do have some parametrisation feature. By the way what Revit is using for surface representation? Mesh? NURBS? I noticed that converted RFA can be really heavy in surfaces and because of that almost useless, because they will kill your interior elevations (for example sanitary), when original file in Revit does not look to heavily 'overmeshed'.

Seriously, always knew that BIM6x development is crappy. As temporary solution is okey - at least some connection with Revit. But to be part of software core it must work seriously, not pretend that it's working, when actually not really. It just upsetting - I feel like I was fooled.
Now Graphisoft must put all power on developing this tool (re-developing) - to keep promise they gave. Otherwise it will be as 3DS import - having this silly problem with soft / sharp angles for years without changes, that makes an Add-on useless.

jl_lt
Contributor
well, i for one fell for it. thought they had finally solved that revit archicad bridge.

DGSketcher
Mentor
Stack them high and sell them cheap, nobody will bother copying / hacking (Sketchup). Make it expensive, some will pay, others will find a cheaper solution. GS should know their market, and they're probably not looking for a race to the bottom with a price war. It could be a fine line between income, development costs and profit? There's also a benefit in sucking users in by letting them in cheap until they have to go legit. Autode$k are good at this with their in built audit software. A friend of mine got stung because unknown to him one of his ex-employees had run a less than legit version of one of their programs on his network.
Apple iMac macOS Big Sur / AC24UKI (most recent builds)

Podolsky
Newcomer
And is the problem. If I'm let say young bringing promises architect, who learned ArchiCAD on pirate version, appearing in big architectural company and say: guys, I know excellent software. I consider the company to purchase 200 copies of ArchiCAD - what happens next? Troubles. Crashes, lack of support of national standards - some sort of mixture of good, excellent features of ArchiCAD and areas that are completely uncovered. GDL is excellent technology, but why so little done by local distributors to provide good reliable tools for local markets? I'm talking now about UK, Israel, USA. Possibly Germany - all places I've been working I've seen the same. If in Israel they have typical equipment and companies, that manufacturing unique solutions for safety rooms (bomb shelters) that they have in any building - if someone is buying ArchiCAD - they are not getting library of all these items that just works good.
If in UK exists specific CAD standard, that clearly shows how to make demolition drawings - I open UKI template and see there completely different settings. I'm contacting Graphisoft UK about it and getting answer - yes you are right, it's BS bla-bla-bla but in UK nobody using it - and they trying to sell to user renovation styles of Germany.
If user from USA is saying - guys c'mmon, layers names are changed, it suppose to be like that. He is getting answer - it's because in USA there is no CAD standards. But does exist NCS, that absolutely clearly states how layers in USA must be named.

I personally look at this and trying to solve it on my own, often free of charge, but then question - why I'm trying to be helpful for everybody? What I'm getting from it personally? I can get several warnings on this forum, for example. If I continue, maybe I can solve just a little bit - it's good already. But few people like me cannot save everybody from this Franz Kafka moment.

Or, if big company is spending big sums for licencing, training, salaries, servers and workstations - shall they also spent additional money for tailoring the software for their needs? Search for GDL programmers and Add-ons developers? Check the quality of these third part development - maybe these guys are just expensive charlatans - that happens today very often. Or just wait for new version, that still not bringing basics of their workflow, that been developed for years (some companies exist maybe 50 years on the market). But they are getting from GS instead Easter eggs - some amazing features, that they most likely don't need.

This is very confusing.

Podolsky
Newcomer
To finalise this my long monologue about development, standards and piracy. Currently I see almost no difference between if people are using legal or pirate software. This is important topic for me, because I did work as ArchiCAD distributor in Moscow in 2000. Since there nothing in Russia really changed. We had ArchiCAD lessons in our studio, coming architects, paying money for lessons, but after wanted to buy a disc with a program for 5 dollars.

It was very big problem to convince people to get legal version for 5000 dollars (instead of 5). The main point was to explain to architects - if you are using pirate software, it can corrupt your file and you cannot continue working. But that wasn't true - people using pirate software for years and don't see any troubles with performance or quality of projects. Or if pirate software wasn't stable, then legal also crashing often - then it's hard to say...

Another point we were making - if you are getting legal software, you are receiving absolutely different level of service. That could be true, local distributors could work on developing local libraries and tools and solve important technical issues. Also they could protect content of the local GDL libraries by connecting them to key serial number - then pirate just cannot get these libraries, that could be totally game changing. But nobody bothers do that.

Even opposite - there are pirate communities online, that shares in between much more useful tools and getting support much better then it happens legally. When all legal stuff working as supermarket-following logic - that if you are paying that means it's going to be good. But let say if I'll buy all possible Add-ons and libraries, that exist on the market - I'm not sure all together will increase productivity, that there is not going to be clashes between tools or any sort of incompatibilities or maybe even third party tools can increase amount of crashes. Most likely if I'm getting all Epitar, ArchiRadar, CI and more of them into one package - it will work nicely.

I'm sure that can be changed. Just it's needed to get clear strategy how to solve this problem, get better coordination etc.

I would like to hear opinion from GS headquarter about it.

Shouldn't this be something better discussed on a thread of its own, rather than polluting or derailing this one?

Laszlo Nagy
Community Admin
Community Admin
Podolsky wrote:
I cannot open an RVT file directly. What website is saying 'Re-use previous project files while migrating from Revit to ArchiCAD'. Logically thinking - I'm a Revit user. Made a project in Revit. I want to re-use my model and continue working in ArchiCAD. What do I expect? That I can just open my Revit file in ArchiCAD and continue working. No, I cannot. I can only attach it as a hotlink. But I cannot do that, because the project was made in Revit 2022 and ArchiCAD reads up to version 2021. Revit does not have file version downgrade - that means I cannot re-use my Revit project, as stated in AC 25 introduction.

The Archicad's RVT/RFA Connection and similar connections of other applications are based on the BimRv SDK developed by the Open Design Alliance.

https://www.opendesign.com/products/bimrv

Archicad can have RVT 2022 compatibility only after the BimRv SDK offers it. As far as I know (this is my personal opinion), at the moment, the BimRv SDK does not have RVT 2022 compatibility so no application (including Archicad) can have it either. If you go to the official blog of the ODA, you will see that since the release of Revit 2022 there were no updates to the BimRv SDK, which is the reason I believe they have not implemented Revit 2022 support yet. If anyone knows better, please correct me if I am wrong:

https://www.opendesign.com/blog
....................................................................................................
Laszlo Nagy, Lead Moderator, Community Admin
Get Archicad Tips at https://twitter.com/laszlonagy
AMD Ryzen 1700X CPU, 48 GB RAM, NVidia GTX 1060 6GB, 500 GB NVMe SSD
2x28" (2560x1440), WIN10 PRO ENG, AC20-AC25
Loving Archicad since 1995

Podolsky
Newcomer
Bricklyne wrote:
Shouldn't this be something better discussed on a thread of its own, rather than polluting or derailing this one?
Polluting? This is what you can say about ArchiCAD 25?

Karl Ottenstein
Moderator
Podolsky wrote:
Bricklyne wrote:
Shouldn't this be something better discussed on a thread of its own, rather than polluting or derailing this one?
Polluting? This is what you can say about ArchiCAD 25?
Hi guys. Poor choice of words by Bricklyne Clarence... perhaps not "polluting" but going off the specific topic of this thread - namely what is in AC 25 and what do people think of those new features, etc.

Podolsky, your posts have been very interesting here... but even you say that they are about "development, standards and piracy" ... which is a broad topic and not specificallly related to AC 25. I would encourage you to start a new topic within this Archicad+ forum to continue these ideas.

Cheers,
Karl / wearing moderator hat
One of the forum moderators   •   AC 25 USA and earlier   •   MacOS 11.6, iMac Pro

Podolsky
Newcomer
Sorry, guys. My thoughts about piracy came by commenting new type of licence in ArchiCAD 25. I guess it's been done to improve the software protection, not by any another (technical) reasons. Glad to hear that it is interesting at least for someone.
I also would like to see more active forum users. So if here would be 20 people who is flooding the forum with their thoughts - it would work only for good for everyone. Just be more active, don't be shy - it will help developing better software.

As about Revit issue with the latest version. We had unpleasant experience working with architectural company, who modelled everything in latest version of Revit. I said to them - or, great, ArchiCAD 24 now can open Revit files, give me the file and I'll take a look. But it been done in Revit 2021. AC 24 was not able to open it. Now similar problem with 25 and 2022. If AutoDesk is delaying issuing their SDK for year (that can be done on purpose - as they like to do), then maybe it is possible to include some sort of experimental unofficial support for latest file versions (until new SDK is published)? I'm pretty sure that there is not such a big difference in file structure of Revit 2021 and 2022. In many cases it can be just different version number in the file, when rest (apart of some new features) is identical as in previous version.

And by the way - anybody knows what's new in Python commands in ArchiCAD 25? Where is possible to get that information?

Didn't find the answer? Start a new discussion

Still looking?

Browse more topics

Back to forum

See latest solutions

Accepted solutions

Start a new discussion!