Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Archicad File Size on Teamwork?

felixsaw
Participant

Hi all,

Archicad beginner here, and I have recently joined a practice based in a different city. We have been collaborating via Teamwork on a commercial / hospitality interior architectural fit out. 

1.png

We are currently at the early stage of Design Development phase ( a lot of block models to test massing and joinery look and feel) The file currently consist of a site contour mesh model, existing shell modelled, series of extrusions with interior fit out (furniture 3d models taken from our BIMcloud library), and our teamwork file is currently sitting at 2100mb sitting on the teamwork page, and the 750mb range when saved locally as a PLN .

Our file gets laggy every now and then, takes ages to load all elevations, sections and views on sheet.

I have been doing some reading on the forum re: file size control and auditing the file - and tried to remove some of the things from our file :

- Save site contour mesh at a different pln file and hotlink : the file size increased!
- Removing everything from the library
- Removing unused layouts
- Removing unwanted views (elevations, sections etc)
- Removing phase
- Removing furniture that were embedded 

Screen Shot 2022-07-18 at 8.49.31 am.png

After all these - the file size decreased from 770mb to 710mb... only managed to save 60mb.

A few questions :

1. Is it a good practice to hotlink my site contour mesh model into the building file instead of keeping it in the same file (even if it make file size bigger)

2. I have read some info online saying teamwork files usually will get significantly larger than a local PLN file.  Is that true? The post was originated at 2011 but the question wasn't addressed or answered.

3. What else can I do to audit the file size?

3 REPLIES 3
NandoMogollon
Advocate

Hi Felix,

to your questions: