BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

Back-saving Library Objects

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi all,
I'm new to ArchiCAD and, therefore, to this forum. I hope somebody knows the solution for my topic, in case there is one. I modeled part of my library in ArchiCAD 22, which I need to access from ArchicCAD 21 now. Is it possible to back-save library objects from versions 22 to 21 ?

Thanks for your help in advance.
5 REPLIES 5
Barry Kelly
You could try adding those objects to the embedded library in the 22 file and then 'Save as' in version 21 format.
This should convert the embedded objects as well.

If that doesn't work then possibly the LP_XMLConveter might be able to help can't say though as I have never really played with it.

As a last resort, start a new object in 21, create all the parameters and then copy and paste the scripts.

The embedded library should work though - I have done that before.

Barry.
One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello Barry,

Thanks for you response. Back-saving saving the file with the embedded library creates a bug report, not sure why. Also, once I open the project in AC21 only those objects created in the early version are visible.

I may try the last resource you listed given the amount of time I'm spending on just trying to recover. I would have imagined the last 2 versions of AC would be more compatible for a simple task like this.

I appreciate your help Barry!
Joachim Suehlo
Advisor
I am using XML Converter often for backwards migrating.
If you send me a private mail, I can do this for you, because it is very easy,