Archicad C++ API
About Archicad add-on development using the C++ API.

Calculate area in GDL properties script

Kaj_AL
Booster

Hi!

For starters, I'm quite new to GDL. I have an object I made that is a slab accessory. How would I go about using the area of the slab (or the accessory, they're equal) in the properties script?

Kind regards

Kaj

Archicad 24-27 SWE
Dell Precision 5560, Windows 11 Pro
11th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-11950H @ 2.60GHz 2.61 GHz
4 REPLIES 4
Barry Kelly

I don't think you would, unless you are trying to use the old 'List' schemes to calculate quantities.

The list scheme is very old and is no longer being updated.

The 'new' Interactive Schedules do not need any information from the property script.

Can you explain more of what you are trying to achieve?

I have not delved into slab accessory objects for a long time.

I am not sure if it can get the area from the slab it is associated to.

It can certainly get all of the perimeter co-ordinates from which I think you could calculate the area (don't ask me how).

Even if you can't get the area from the accessory object, you can always just schedule the area of the slab it is associated to.

Don't forget this is just an accessory.

Most information you can get from the associated slab.

Barry.

Barry.

One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11

Hi Barry, and thanks for your answer!

Here's my original post, which was more a general question on how to do it: https://community.graphisoft.com/t5/Developer-forum/Slab-like-GDL-or-Param-O-object-for-city-plannin...

It's pretty much a basic volume for buildings in early stages, from which the user can get a lot of basic information.