Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

Creating a GSM, then missing object right away?

Anonymous
Not applicable
Anyone have this problem after creating a new GSM 2D object, then testing Object Tools, then the object doesn't show up but the "famous missing Dot". What does that mean?

Wondering if anyone have this problem. This is my first time noticing this. How do i avoid that problem if I create a basic 2D object GSM without being missing automatic?

Any tips would be great!

No rush.

Thanks!
5 REPLIES 5
Barry Kelly
Did you script your object or did you select elements in your model and 'Save as object'?

Barry.
One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
Anonymous
Not applicable
I did select elements and save as object, then after that. I checked the object tool, then see the error like this or the" famous missing dot". I don't get it. It was just line and fill to make 2D symbol that I always used for other common basic objects. This is kind of weird, though.
Anonymous
Not applicable
I forgot to attach the GSM file for you to look at it if you want.
Barry Kelly
I don't know why but something has gone wrong in converting your polygons (fills) into the GDL script.
Probably because some of them are so tiny.

You could greatly simplify your fills before you select them.

Here is where the problem fill is ...

In the script it is converting to a polygon but with a bad arc.
This is on line 298 of the 2D script (CTRL+L and type in 298 will take you there).

The line ending with "4001" should be in the form ... 0, angle, 4001
For some reason the angle is 101'-1.2283" which makes no sense to me.