BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

Custom Window - Turn Plaster

Anonymous
Not applicable
Is there an easy way to create a custom window that still has the turn plaster functionality? It seems there are layers and layers of macros that achieve this with standard windows, however the standard windows cannot be customized enough to fit my needs. Thanks!

edited to include:
Perhaps I should clarify: when I say custom window, I mean in the same vein as what is described here: http://helpcenter.graphisoft.com/tips/how-to-create-custom-window/ There seems to be nothing there about the plaster turn, and I have found nothing else online about creating custom windows.

*I am very new to GDL, although I have a small amount of experience with some other coding languages.
4 REPLIES 4
Laszlo Nagy
Community Admin
Community Admin
The answer is no.
You would have to script the "Turn Plaster" functionality.
There is another way: take a Window in the ARCHICAD Default Library and remove what is not needed, keep the Turn Plaster. (However, Windows are some of the most complex GDL objects, with lots of Macros, so it is not for the faint of heart - but I don't want to discourage you).
Loving Archicad since 1995 - Find Archicad Tips at x.com/laszlonagy
AMD Ryzen9 5900X CPU, 64 GB RAM 3600 MHz, Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, 500 GB NVMe SSD
2x28" (2560x1440), Windows 10 PRO ENG, Ac20-Ac27
Anonymous
Not applicable
That's what I was afraid of.

I am coming from Revit, but my office is totally bought into AC (although no one is exactly an expert). It is pretty disheartening that we can't get windows to work even close to the way we need them to, and there is no way to customize them outside of the already built objects.