Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Deleting Excess Mesh Points

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi,
I am new to this excellent site.
After years of working with AC I just found that one can delete excess mesh points! I have often created too many points in a mesh and had to keep all points not knowing how to delete. I would then assign heights to the extra points to make them fit the site profile.
Dragging the extra mesh point outside of the site mesh and dropping seems to delete the points.
This does not seem to be in the AC manuals....or have I missed it?
12 REPLIES 12
Karl Ottenstein
Graeme wrote:
After years of working with AC I just found that one can delete excess mesh points! I have often created too many points in a mesh and had to keep all points not knowing how to delete. I would then assign heights to the extra points to make them fit the site profile.
Dragging the extra mesh point outside of the site mesh and dropping seems to delete the points.
This does not seem to be in the AC manuals....or have I missed it?
Welcome, Graeme.

This is a new one to me, and would be a great tip if I could get it to work! I'm wondering if it works only with certain mesh points. I just tried to drag an 'extra' mesh point from the middle of a contour as shown in the attached image. Where the rubber band lines crossed the mesh boundary, I ended up with two new points, and the original single contour became two separate ones. I hope I'm doing something wrong, as what you describe would be nice. What I do now to delete a point is to drag it onto an adjacent point.

Thanks,
Karl
One of the forum moderators
AC 27 USA and earlier   •   macOS Ventura 13.6.6, MacBook Pro M2 Max 12CPU/30GPU cores, 32GB
Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi Karl,
The difference is my points are not linked along a contour. I gave up using the magic wand for site levels for this reason, ie that all points are linked.