Parametric design
About Rhino & Grasshopper and PARAM-O.

Elliptical profile surface, thickness

This is a (proof-of concept, test) zero-thickness morph, brought into GH from Archicad. Its profile is elliptical. It was generated in Archicad with a 0-thickness shell on an arc profile, saved as object, modified zzyzx, saved as morph, SEOed out openings, saved as morph —which produces a clean curved surface. With Check Solidity > Solidify the shape gets messed up. I would like to give it some thickness, with edge faces that need to be normal to the surface (I could get neither elliptical section nor normal edge faces with Shells; I may be missing something; I am a Shell noob).
I took it to GH but I can't find the GH command to give it some thickness (I am a GH noob), baked it hoping to find a Rhino command for reference but couldn't either (I am a Rhino noob).
I will be grateful for any suggestion on how to go about it.
7 REPLIES 7
Barry Kelly
I know nothing about Grasshoper, but is there any reason why you did not add thickness to the shell in Archicad in the first place?
You can still SEO the holes in a thick shell or you can just use the 'Create Hole in Shell' command (select shell and right click) and draw the hole.

Barry.
One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
Barry wrote:
is there any reason why you did not add thickness to the shell in Archicad in the first place?
You can still SEO the holes in a thick shell or you can just use the 'Create Hole in Shell' command (select shell and right click) and draw the hole.