Parametric design
About Rhino & Grasshopper and PARAM-O.

Favourites and script/python/c# component

alexsks
Newcomer
I'm playing with the connection (I'm a newbie in Rhino/Grasshopper), and I'm a bit confused about what is possible to do programmatically.

So, I read in the connection manual that for most elements, the parameters available are not complete, and if we want completion we should use favourites and connect them to design components directly.

In order to avoid having dozens of favourites with only minor changes between them, is there a way to do this: insert a script/python/c# component (say between a wall favourite and wall design or between wall design and wall parameter) and change for example the thickness or the layer of the wall?

As a test, I try to have a script component with the favourite as input and an unaltered copy as output (either by a = x, or python deepcopy or a copy using classes), and I get "data conversion failed from goo to wall settings". Type hinting is not useful either.

I guess the more general question, for scripting, when the archicad component has an archicad structure/object as an output, are the data in it private and totally inaccessible or there's a way to read/parse/copy/edit them?
10 REPLIES 10
alexsks
Newcomer
To answer my own question, in case someone who reads this is also considering scripting possibilities.

So it seems (most?) Archicad data (from favourite components or others) can be read/changed after all.

With a C# script, if you make sure you avoid an (implicit) conversion (from the original Archicad class to the generic Grasshopper class) while getting the data, then you GetType(), and then with intellisense/autocomplete you can see what's inside the Archicad class, including parameters you can change by script.