Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

Furniture Library

Anonymous
Not applicable
I work for Australian furniture manufacturer and have built a 3D library in Revitt and am now doing an Archicad version although I have no experience with Archicad. I have commissioned 3 designers to build 5 basic objects in hope that I can work out who is most suitable to build the library (over 200 products).
The brief was to build in Archicad, make them light and easy to add colours finishes. If anyone has 5 minutes please have a look at these and let me know if you think A,B or C is better. https://batger.com.au/archicad.zip

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Regards Stephen
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable
stephenr wrote:
let me know if you think A,B or C is better.
I'm not sure what I suppose to comment. Model itself or library part.
Provided models B, C are just models done with morph tool. So it's not library Part. In terms of modeling, they seem ok. Besides chair which in those cases is horrible.

Case A has some library Part attempt. But parameters are weird and in Russian. Also, note its mostly covered lib part not written and GDL script. Chair seems bit better here.

And now to the point. If you want to make such a big lib part I would suggest hiring someone with GDL scripting experience. Both for better user experience but also management possibilities for you to update the library.

A good example of the library is Velux Lib where you have one object for most of the products with a clear interface to set it up.
Anonymous
Not applicable
When creating library objects, try to meet the following requiremen:

1. The ability to edit the 2d symbol:
a). The color of the pen;
b). Hatching pen color;
c). Color pen background.

2. If the object has the ability to display the built-in label, the ability to edit the font, the height of the letters. and the location on the plan.