Archicad C++ API
About Archicad add-on development using the C++ API.
SOLVED!

GDL projected Fill in 2D

Sam Parish
Booster

Hi, 

I'm new to GDL, trying to create some basic objects for the office and am struggling to get the 2D symbol to work how I want it. I am currently using project2{3}  with method 3 +32 to show the top view of the object with the custom hotspots I setup in 3D unfortunately this only seems to show the contours and not the fill.

The best way to achieve what I want is to set the fill to background fill then set the background fill pen in project2{3} to white. Is this how it would typically be done or is there a better method? 

Looking at most of the inbuilt Archicad objects they use 2D scripting to define the shape. I could do this on this particular object as it is just a couple of rectangles but i want to add options so that I can include attachements or different install variations for the object and I believe I would have to code separate 2D elements for each of these. Similarly for a particularly complex element it is more complex to code the 2D shape so I thought project would be the preferred method.

Any tips or advice would be appreciated.

ArchiCAD 24 NZE FULL
Windows 10 Pro 1909
Intel Core i7-6700; 32GB RAM; AMD RX480
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution

In my experience don't project other than to check your 2d code. 

Projections cost lots of computing power.

Always code the 2d for speed. It takes longer sometimes but is well worth it in the end.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Solution

In my experience don't project other than to check your 2d code. 

Projections cost lots of computing power.

Always code the 2d for speed. It takes longer sometimes but is well worth it in the end.

DGSketcher
Legend

@Sam Parish See if this guidance clarifies your problems... PROJECT2{3}