Parametric design
About Rhino & Grasshopper and PARAM-O.
SOLVED!

Grasshopper-Archicad connection not connecting?

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello, I am totally new to try this feature, so I am using Archicad 23 EDU, and Rhino 6. I have installed the connection plugin, and the 'archicad' tab on grasshopper is already shown up. Then I did a test by making a slab in Archicad, and in GH I put the Slab parameter capsule, and right click on it and click something called 'extract/select a single from archicad'. Then the window of GH and Rhino were minimized only for a couple seconds, and then it went back again to the GH window, and nothing happened. Seems like I cannot extract or I think the connection is not working. Can somebody help me please? Thank you!
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Laszlo Nagy
Community Admin
Community Admin
Steve,

Establishment of the connection between the two programs does not mean anything is displayed in Rhino. Did you place any ARCHICAD Node in Grasshopper and set one or more ARCHICAD Elements with it? You will see ARCHICAD stuff displayed in Rhino only if you use an ARCHICAD Node in Grasshopper to get the geometry of those ARCHICAD elements into Rhino/Grasshopper.
Like you can see it in this clip:

Steve wrote:
Step one for me will be getting the ArchiCAD element/s to be displayed in Rhino via the ArchiCAD-Grasshopper add-on.
I have still not been able to do that using ArchiCAD 23 and Rhino 6 - but it was working for me with earlier versions. I must have some simple thing setup wrong. ? Connections are verifiably established but I do not see anything in Rhino.
Loving Archicad since 1995 - Find Archicad Tips at x.com/laszlonagy
AMD Ryzen9 5900X CPU, 64 GB RAM 3600 MHz, Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, 500 GB NVMe SSD
2x28" (2560x1440), Windows 10 PRO ENG, Ac20-Ac27

View solution in original post

26 REPLIES 26
Daniel Kovacs
Graphisoft Alumni
Graphisoft Alumni
Hello,