Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Hotlinks doesn't show up correctly!

Kamelite
Enthusiast
How come these two marked walls is different? The one on the left is in a pln-file used as hotlink, and the file in the right is what it lookes like when placed..

.Thag
Windows 10, Archicad 27
6 REPLIES 6
Kamelite
Enthusiast
To clarify: The definition of the composite wall changes as I Iink it into the main file...

Thag
Windows 10, Archicad 27
Kamelite
Enthusiast
I've done some testing, and if I insert the file into a clean Archicad, it shows up like it should...

.Thag
Windows 10, Archicad 27
Lingwisyer
Guru
When inserting a hotlink into a file, it will adopt the materials of the host. This means that if the material assigned to each index number is different, you will get a different material showing up in the host.

Ling.

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660 
Kamelite
Enthusiast
How can I find the index number?

.Thag
Windows 10, Archicad 27
Barry Kelly
In the Attribute Manager.
On the left side you will see the attributes of your current file.
On the right hand side you can open any other file and you can compare the lists.
It is possible to overwrite by index (keeps the same index number) or append (will create a new index number) from either file (side) to the other.
You unfortunately can't just manipulate these index numbers.

In the case you have described, I think you would have to Overwrite by index from the master file to the hotlink file.
This will ensure you have all of the same attributes in the hotlink file as those in the master file.
You will probably end up with some duplicate named attributes with a '(1)' after the name in the hotlink file.

You will then need to fix the hotlink file by 'delete and replace' the building material (attribute) in the building material settings dialogue.