BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Its ableto built bilbao's guggenheim directly in archicad?

Alanerniquez
Participant
Im new at this thing of the BIM and i think is amazing switching from ancient autocad way of drawing to Archicad but i have found kind of difficult triyng to design very organic shapes and with maxon form seems more difficult so i would like to know if there is a way to design something like Gehry's designs directly from archicad.
waiting 4 your answers and tell me how you do it if u can.
Mexico
40 REPLIES 40
Anonymous
Not applicable
Can you model the Guggenheim in ArchiCAD? No not really. He had to use his horrendously complex in-house developed software Digital Project to do it!

ArchiCAD is very limited in its freeform modelling, curved and profiled shapes are the best you can do currently. It is excellent for doing regular shaped buildings though! Maxonform/Cinema4D is the best 'integrated' 3d modeller we have, but unfortunately the organic shaped parts lose all intelligence after conversion.

I'm not even sure Revit could do it natively. All the fancy shape forming would probably need to be done in something like Rhino and imported in.

Basically, there isn't much out there that can both model the building and retain component intelligence, which is what BIM is about.
I wish there were at least some video game in which you could blow it up.
Anonymous
Not applicable
No you can't. And that is the reason why interesting firms that do high end modern design don't use Archicad (or Revit). The smaller firms use Rhino, Maya and Autocad and the larger firms tend to ad Generative Component or Digital Project to the mix. Unfortunately, bim sofware like Archicad or Revit seemed to be geared towards the more mainstream architecture.
Anonymous
Not applicable