Documentation
About Archicad's documenting tools, views, model filtering, layouts, publishing, etc.

Layers and Symbols

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi there, I'm quite new to ArchiCAD, and am crossing over from using Vectorworks, which I've used for about 20 years. So far, everything is going pretty smoothly, but there are obviously a few teething problems I'm having!

I am wondering if it's possible to use separate layers within a furniture symbol.

For example, if I am using a specific piece of furniture which always sits on a rug of a given size, and has a light sitting above it, is it possible to draw the items as part of the same symbol, but hide the different components in different views. So hide the rug and the light in a basic layout, then turn them on for flooring and lighting layouts respectively?

So far, I've been able to create the symbols without any problems, but when I place them, they all come through in the same layer.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Cheers,

Nick
5 REPLIES 5
Barry Kelly
No a single object can only belong to one layer so you would need separate objects for your rug, chair and light.

It is possible to make an object react to different Model View Options and in fact you can create your own settings called Library Globals but you will need to get into the actual GDL scripting to do this.
But it will still not react to layers or layer combinations.
You will then need different Model View Options saved for each type of plan you want to display.

Barry.
One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
Anonymous
Not applicable
Cheers Barry! I was afraid this would be the case!