Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Need help adding a door to "stacked" wall

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi, I'm new to this so please be gentle with me.

I'm using Archicad 22 to draw a floor plan for an outbuilding. The building will be built on a slab on grade with a footing below grade. There is to be a 2' stem wall of block built on the footing topped with a top plate and then an 8' 2"x6" framed wall on top of that. I drew the stem wall, top plate and framed walls as separate walls and set their heights so that they are stacked one on top of the other. The problem is that when I placed a door in the wall, the door only cuts out the wall on the stem wall part - leaving all in place on the upper sections. I assume that these wall sections need to be linked together somehow but I'm unsure as to how to do it. Also when I place the door on the floor plan, I can see the arrows to show the direction of the opening, but once I click off of it, there is nothing of the door showing on the plan. I can see it on the elevation and 3D view, but not on the 2D floor plan. I have no idea why!

I appreciate any advice you have to offer as to how to do this or if there is a better way I'm open to that too.

Here is a 3d view of the door and wall in question.

Thanks in advance.
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable
The image did not show in my post so I'm trying again from a different photo server.

Barry Kelly
Your image didn't attach properly.

A door/window can only belong to one wall.
So you will have to use a separate empty opening in the other wall.

Or create a single complex profile wall that is your stem wall and the wall above - all in one.