BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Need help drawing complex wall segment

Anonymous
Not applicable
I am new to ArchiCAD. I'd like to model a composite wall segment consisting of three layers... basically, 2 concrete walls with an insulation layer between. But there's another twist. The concrete segments are "keyed" so that they lock together. Walls are created by repeating these interlocking segments. Do I need to create a GDL object? A composite wall? Any/all help is appreciated.

Here's a sketch of what the wall segment will look like from the top.

Thanks in advance

wallsegmentview.gif
6 REPLIES 6
Karl Ottenstein
The picture sure helps to see what you want. Thanks.

I'd thought about the same issue with the Durisolwood chip/concrete wall forms that come in fixed unit sizes and have keyed ends (and special shapes for corners).

The keys and the units do not fit into a conventional ArchiCAD wall - composite or not. The way you model these depends on the type of documents that you need to produce.

If you want to wave your hands at the block location, you can define a custom fill for the block layers of the composite that include the key shape...the fill will suggest to the builder the wall type, but not the location of the block joints.