Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

Object placement

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi!

I'm new to GDL scripting. Is it posible to make an object which finds other object from project and places itself in to it?

How could i get position from f.e. column wher to place GDL object ?
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi.
first answer = No.
Each object sees only itself.
You can't code a chair to sense a table and put itself in position.
(But you can always code a special table and part of its code will be the chair near it.)

In other cases, if you code a door, for example, it will be positionable only on walls so second answer is "perhaps"

Barry Kelly
New wrote:
I'm new to GDL scripting. Is it posible to make an object which finds other object from project and places itself in to it?
Objects can't recognise other objects or elements in your model.
However one object can 'CALL' another object.
This can be automatic (i.e. will happen every time) or you can add a Boolean (on/off) parameter to you object that allows you to manually call the second object.
New wrote:
How could i get position from f.e. column wher to place GDL object ?
You can add hotspots to you object and use these as anchor points for placing a set distance from your column.
The hotspot distance can be adjustable via a parameter in you object if you need an adjustable distance.

If you are new to GDL scripting then try googling 'GDL Cookbook'.
This is probably the best source for learning GDL scripting - even if it is a bit old now.

Barry.
One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
Anonymous
Not applicable
Thanks for help!

I do Appreciate.
Anonymous
Not applicable