BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

Object to sum multiple zone areas

insideru
Advocate
Hello,

I'm looking to find out if it is possible: in a project where some rooms need to have their added zone area annotated, i would like to have their zone areas added automatically, not to use a calculator every time to input data manually. This takes a lot of time, especially when those zones get modified, but it feels like in an information based model there should be a way to access data stored in specific objects, retrieve it and adding it together.

PS: i am a GDL noob
ARCHICAD 27 INT
macOS Sonoma
6 REPLIES 6
Laszlo Nagy
Community Admin
Community Admin
Can you post a screenshot of what exactly are you trying to achieve?
I don't quite have a clear idea of what this "added area" thing is. Do you mean the sum of area of multiple zones, maybe?
Loving Archicad since 1995 - Find Archicad Tips at x.com/laszlonagy
AMD Ryzen9 5900X CPU, 64 GB RAM 3600 MHz, Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, 500 GB NVMe SSD
2x28" (2560x1440), Windows 10 PRO ENG, Ac20-Ac27
insideru
Advocate
exactly, sum was the right word. can't post a screenie now, as i'm not at work, but the main idea is simple. i have a block of flats and each apartment is labeled at the entrance door with the total area of the rooms. at the moment i'm just adding (here's where the add came from) the numbers manually on a calculator and writing the sum down. it isn't that big a deal, but during the design process those zones keep changing, and i need to redo the calculations. not to mention that at some point i keep forgetting if the calculations are up to date or not, and i just redo them to be sure. its frustrating to say the least.