Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Object with IES Light

Cool_Blue
Participant

Hi , newbie here.. Does anyone knows how to create a light bulb object with built-in IES on it and can be loaded into projects through libraries.. Normally we could insert objects and lamp separately, But is it possible to create a new object along with IES? I had created one but when transferred to other PC the IES went missing because maybe the destination folder is unlinked.. 

Thank you very much..

5 REPLIES 5
MetalFingerz
Advocate

Hello @Cool_Blue ,

The IES file should simply be loaded in the libraries of that other PC. If the object was working on the first PC and not on the second one, it's most likely an issue with missing libs.

Regarding, your first question, I don't think you could create an object with a built-in .ies file but more experienced GDL developpers might know better. I think you can only embed images from the UI in the objects, not much else.

You could however create an object with a LIGHT source where you could define all the necessary lighting parameters but :

- that would require you to know a bit of GDL

- the object's light will never be as accurate as an actual .ies file

Hi @MetalFingerz 

Thanks for your reply I really appreciate coz it gives me a hint on what is the possible problem.. I forgot to add that I had used  IES Light and on the Light setting its a photometric light which I downloaded from a manufacturers website.. So ones I transferred the Library part into other computer It went missing.. There is a quick fix on it ill copy the IES File and put this on one designated folder.. but my question, is there any way that it could be embedded along the Library part I made?.. 

Thank you very much..

@Cool_Blue wrote:

There is a quick fix on it ill copy the IES File and put this on one designated folder.. but my question, is there any way that it could be embedded along the Library part I made?..