Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

ParkingLot ER - FREE GDL parametric object

sinceV6
Advocate
Hello.

This is a way of saying thanks to everyone in the forum that actively share information, knowledge and advice. I hope you find this contribution useful. My only request is that if you like it after testing, you can pm me for a symbolic donation if you wish, buy me a beer, send me a post card or at least come back and leave a comment here. Also don't be afraid to show some work if you use it.

It was done in the very scarce spare time I have to fulfill the need for a single ParkingLot object with features I constantly use. This was built on top of the "Dynamic Polyline ER" object, just an example of what can be done with it. It might not be the most efficient script -I'm no GDL expert-, but hey... it works for me.

"ParkingLot ER"

FREE GDL parametric object

FEATURES:
-Create and manage vast parking lot layouts with ease.
-No limit on segment numbers: careful though... it is quite complex and has a lot of features and parameters, and just like every complex GDL object, the more segments, the longer it will take to edit and regenerate. I have tested it with 1000 parking spots and it still manages (1000 cars in a single story is a lot of cars. Only in rare cases I go above 100 or 150 per story). Use the special option "Editing large layout" for faster editing, as it disables display of some elements while editing.
-Graphical editing of parking space groups, size, depth, etc.
-Global width and depth, or set it per segment
-Each segment (group of parking spaces) can:
--Have a different parking space size
--Have a different depth
--Turn ON/OFF each side stripe
--Have (or not) car tire bumper & offset
-Symbolic 2D representation options
-Random 2D cars with different seed and density settings