Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Placing windows, doors and interior

Anonymous
Not applicable
Excuse me...but I'm new to this Archi-business. Previous experience of Arcon, a bit of Revit and some Chief Architect.

When inserting a window, internal wall or door in previous programs, as soon as I got close to say the outside walls (which I can place... ) you would get live 'on-the fly' dimensions that appear. You then type in a figure and its done. Simple.
This doesn't seem to be the case with Archicad ? I have read help and this just seems to show you how to place an internal wall, window or door but oddly no mention of actual precise placement. This seems quite basic to a CAD environment.

Any help most appreciated
5 REPLIES 5
Karl Ottenstein
It sounds like you've not received any hands-on training or walked through the training guides? Wishing for AC to behave like other software won't help you learn how AC does things... the learning curve is quite large.

Window and door dimensions (and 100's of other parameters) are set up in the settings dialog typically before placing into a wall. There are a variety of placement methods for anchoring the window/door. Alternatively, you can place the W/D and then later open its settings to set the RO, actual size, and various other parameters and then move it to where it needs to be.
One of the forum moderators
AC 27 USA and earlier   •   macOS Ventura 13.6.6, MacBook Pro M2 Max 12CPU/30GPU cores, 32GB
Anonymous
Not applicable
Karl

Thanks so much for the prompt reply, but.....I have worked through some examples and looked at guides and the supplied help, and none have shown how to do this ? Incredible.......I understood that you can adjust a myriad of criteria around a window or door and that all seems pretty well organised. I still need though to place these things accurately and was wondering how you all did it given the lack of info on such a basic matter.