Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

Problem in making GDL Object

Anonymous
Not applicable
Respected Sir,

I am facing problem in making curved back rest for the chair and oval shape table top. Since i am new in learning GDL programming and making object and working in archicad so kindly help me out to solve this. I am attaching file of chair which i was editting from Archicad library. and picture of the problem in chair.

Chair :

Gap is there when i increase the A parameter and thus back rest float in air instead of the legs.

Table :

i m able to make oval type chair from Archicads object but the supports i want to place just under table as shown in the objects.jpg

Sir i m doing reverse engineering and may my method of learning GDL is wrong so please guide me correct way. though i am familiar with all the commands. please guide me. Waiting for your reply

Regards
Deepak
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello Deepak,
I downloaded your files and had a look at your chair object.
The issue is the geometry of circles. In this case, the definition
of the revolve object's radius derived from the "A" parameter.
The radius and center location for the revolve are right, by accident
with the default value of the "A" dimension but is wrong for all other
values of "A". If you want the seat back to follow the "A" dimension
then the "A" dimension is the chord length of the arc segment
between the vertical members of the chair back. Starting with
the chord length ("A") you need to define the arc radius and center
location for the revolve command. This math is necessary to accomplish
what you want. It is not simple and hard to explain in a post so what
I can offer is the attached .PDF which shows the derivations of the
basic variables of circle geometry. I have found this .PDF very useful.
With it you should be able to figure out how to define the parameters
of the revolve command.