BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Selecting Elements on multiple stories

Anonymous
Not applicable
I am currently a student and I am working with Archicad (Edu. license). I have also tried other architectural software as well as standard 3D MCAD products as well. Of the architectural software I have found AC to be the easiest to use and I even get support. Is it the fastest or easiest software to design a building? That depends. I created a 30 story building with 2 towers and a bridge and it only took me 2 days with my MCAD software, with AC it took me 2 weeks. The difference lies in the fact that my building in MCAD has no intelligence (not BIM) and with AC I had to be more specific about element characteristics and that added the time. As for your concern for the UI look and feel I find AC's UI easy to use but I also see options available that would make things simpler without making major changes. It should be noted that all application software can be made to work better/easier but changes need to be phased in gradually so as not to upset the current base of workers. As for your desire about elements being parametrically based they currently are. What they aren't is parametrically tied to each other. In your example, the doors, you can change them all simultaneously. What is difficult is "Selecting" the doors especially if they are on different floors. The easiest solution would be to improve the selection process so the doors can be changed at the same time.