BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Sloped Walls of a Cylinder

Anonymous
Not applicable
Subject: Sloped Walls.............any ideas >?

Hello.

I am trying to use Archicad to produce a model of a lighthouse. The walls are circular and sloped like a cone. Is there a way to modify a cylindrical wall to be "cone" shaped ? I am new to GDL so to modify the script is a little (no, a lot) daunting, but the wall object seems like it would be superior to the primitive object. A picture of preliminary CAD drawing is included. Also the cylinders are separated by stories, so I am guessing the dimensions of the top and bottom diameters need to be pretty accurate so model will be "clean"

Thanks in advance.

Simon Dent
D2G
'
'
This was an answer I got from another Forum's member... Not sure how to implement this advice......

Ans.

"You could use a roof or trim/solid operator a roof from your wall."
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable
Have Rec'd responses which I am posting here for everyone's use. Thanks again.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Simon,

This question is more for ArchiCAD Talk, which you can access at
www.archicad-talk.graphisoft.com

As David said, use the Wall Accessories (under Extras pull down menu) to
create sloped walls. Select the walls that describe the basic geometry,
start up the AddOn from the Extras menu, set the parameters ...

Date: Sat Nov 29, 2003 6:50 am
Subject: Re: [GDLTalk] Sloped Walls

Wall Accessories API tool..... No GDL required.
Or use one of the "basic shapes" from the library.
Anonymous
Not applicable