BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.
SOLVED!

Tool to pick existing lines

Eske
Contributor

Hi Everyone

I'm fairly new to AC. Having recently changed from Revit.

I'm searching for the tool to select existing linework as my boundary for my new elements like slabs and mesh. In Revit that tool is called create/ pick line from an existing line (green line with a cursor icon). I've tried magic wand, but that seems to select regions and not lines.

Any help would be much appriciated 🙂

Kind regards 

Eske

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution
DGSketcher
Legend

@Eske You need to play with the Magic Wand a bit more. I'm not familiar with Revit but the MW does a pretty good job and it isn't tied to creating regions / slabs, you can also use it to create poly lines.

See if this link to the Magic Wand help files offers anymore insight.

Apple iMac Intel i9 / macOS Sonoma / AC27UKI (most recent builds.. if they work)

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Solution
DGSketcher
Legend

@Eske You need to play with the Magic Wand a bit more. I'm not familiar with Revit but the MW does a pretty good job and it isn't tied to creating regions / slabs, you can also use it to create poly lines.

See if this link to the Magic Wand help files offers anymore insight.

Apple iMac Intel i9 / macOS Sonoma / AC27UKI (most recent builds.. if they work)

@DGSketcher Thanks for the help and link. Much appreciated 🙂  I'll spend some more time with the Magic Wand 

Erwin Edel
Rockstar