BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Training/ Transition from AutoCAD 2002 to ArchiCAD10

Anonymous
Not applicable
What is the best (most comprehensive) way to learn the ArchiCAD 10 software. I am new to ArchiCAD (have been an Autodesk AutoCAD user since 1989).

I am really frustrated by the poor quality (incomplete/ inaccuracy) of what I have seen/ been exposed to thus far. The index of the Graphisoft Reference Guide is terribly inadequate. (Where do you set/ establish the project orientation (project North)?Try and look it up. Try the "help" tab as well, I cant find the answer.)

The most helpful 'tool' was/is the "Virtual Tutor 9" by Design Animation / GraphisoftAustralia, but this was for Version 9. I have ordered the Virtual Tutor 10 and am ...........waiting for it's arrival/release.

I have lost several hundreds of hours in productivity trying to learn by trial and error. The on-line tutorial produced by Graphisoft was very elementary and not produced well. I learn best in a hands-on environment, supplemented by reading material.

You'd think that if Graphisoft truly wanted to improve their market share, they would be creating a complete and thorough/ hands-on, Step-by-Step manual with DVD (as GRAPHISOFTAUSTRALIA did) while they were developing and distributing the Software. Of what use will a complete manual be in a year or so when the next release is marketed.
3 REPLIES 3
TomWaltz
Participant
My recommendation has always been:

1) Work through the Archicad Learning Guide from ArchVista to get a general idea (total time: 8 to 12 hours if you are in a hurry, 16 to 20 if you move more normally)
2) Take a classroom training (total time: 2 to 3 days)