BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Trim top of wall

Beginner
Participant

Beginner_0-1665223370847.png
I would like to trim the walls as shown in the picture. I can't trim them to the roof as they  go further up than the roof.

Hope someone can help me to the right, and hopefully easy method. I am new to Archicad, but have experience from Revit.

23 REPLIES 23
Bob Moore
Enthusiast

I've always used the "Fake Wall" on top of the parapet as the coping or wall cap. The top of the wall should never be exposed.

AC 7 - 27

iMac 27"

Mac OS Sonoma 14.0

3.1 GHz 6-Core Intel Core

32 GB 2667 MHz DDR4

Radeon Pro 575X 4 GB

I meant to say Fake Roof not wall.

AC 7 - 27

iMac 27"

Mac OS Sonoma 14.0

3.1 GHz 6-Core Intel Core

32 GB 2667 MHz DDR4

Radeon Pro 575X 4 GB
Laszlo Nagy
Community Admin
Community Admin

Here is my solution.

I was looking for an element that can be associated to the Roof slope, we can set its height relative to the Roof  top surface, and can trim the top of the Wall.

This is possible to do using a Railing composed of a single Toprail (which can be even Profiled). We can place it associated to the Nodes of the Roof outline, we can specify how high it is above the associated Roof Planes, and then we can use it as a SEO operator to cut off the top of the Wall. It can have the same Surface as the Wall or a different Surface. Also, the Railing can be placed on a separate and hidden if needed. If we change the Roof geometry it will update its position since it is associated to it.

LaszloNagy_0-1665436697076.png

I found only two issues:

1. If we change the Roof pitch the Railing reference line node associated to the Ridge will not stay associated and needs to be adjusted.