Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

Window/Door Orientation related to North Point

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi GDL Guru's,

I'm fairly new to GDL scripting so please go easy on me.
Apologies if I use any incorrect terminology.

Any idea on how to work out a Window/Door's Orientation related to the project North Point?
I know how to extract the project North Point angle but can't seem to figure out the angle in which a Window or Door faces.

I am pretty sure that this must be able to be done as EcoDesigner does this already.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Alister
8 REPLIES 8
Laszlo Nagy
Community Admin
Community Admin
Check the GDL GLobal Variable called WALL_DIRECTION in the below document.

http://www.archicadwiki.com/Global%20GDL%20Parameters#Wall_parameters_-_available_for_Doors.2BAC8-Wi...

The article is rather old, is was done for 6.5 but many of the descriptions still stand.
Loving Archicad since 1995 - Find Archicad Tips at x.com/laszlonagy
AMD Ryzen9 5900X CPU, 64 GB RAM 3600 MHz, Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, 500 GB NVMe SSD
2x28" (2560x1440), Windows 10 PRO ENG, Ac20-Ac27
David Maudlin
Virtuoso
Alister:

I have not tested this thoroughly, but try the Global Variable WALL_DIRECTION, it reads the angle of the the window's host wall. Then using the Global Variable GLOB_NORTH_DIR you should be able to work out the Orientation.

You should add a Signature to your Profile (click the Profile button near the top of this page) with your ArchiCAD version and operating system (see mine for an example) for more accurate help in this forum.

David
David Maudlin / Architect
www.davidmaudlin.com
Digital Architecture
AC27 USA • iMac 27" 4.0GHz Quad-core i7 OSX11 | 24 gb ram • MacBook Pro M3 Pro | 36 gb ram OSX14
Anonymous
Not applicable
Be sure to do some tests on this.