Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Working with point cloud data?

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello guys, I'm very new to modelling trying to diversify my skills. I work in construction and I do alot of work with point cloud. I was wondering what is the best software to use with point cloud data?
Alot of our clients need as-built models (as it's built on site) so that they can fit facade. What I have found with Revit is that it just draws straight and I can't get the trueness of point cloud.

Am I using it wrong? Is there a better software for such work? Also The LOD differs from job to job if that plays into account at all.
5 REPLIES 5
Hello David Joaquim,

If the project was created with Archicad, the best way to have a model as it's built on site is to open your file and enjoy.
For my own I do not need to modify my model after the construction because my model is always updated.
I use points cloud to model the building before the project.

To do this I import e57 or a xyz file by this way : File/Interoperability/Import a points cloud

Your points cloud is imported by Archicad like a object
You are able to see it in all kind of views (2d and 3D)

Finaly I use guide lines hung on the points to model with Archicad tools.
Christophe - FRANCE
Archicad Designer and Teacher
Archicad 15 to 27 FRA FULL

OS 11.6 Big Sur - MacBook Pro 2017 - 16Go RAM
"Quality is never an accident ; it's always the result of an intelligent effort" John Ruskin
Anonymous
Not applicable
Thank you for your reply Christophe, I will try practising with archicad. I'll try and find tutorials online.
Laszlo Nagy
Community Admin
Community Admin
There is a free software called CloudCompare using which you can process Point Cloud files before importing them into ARCHICAD. You may find it useful:

https://www.danielgm.net/cc/
Loving Archicad since 1995 - Find Archicad Tips at x.com/laszlonagy