GDL
About building parametric objects with GDL.

2 Way Live external object parameter file.

gavinNZz
Advocate
I am not going to pretend for one second I'm a programmer so this is a question about possibilities rather than technicalities.

Given the GH-AC link is a working example of this I am assuming that the 2 way external control of object/element parameters is possible but at this stage is locked into that particular add-on.

If there was an add-on that produced the same external 2 way link through the creation of an external txt file that was a constant live feed of the selected elements parameters then that file could be read and written by an external piece of software just as GH does when using that add-on.

While the GH-AC link is amazing at achieving what they set out to achieve, the possibilities of externally controlling parameters of elements & objects is much broader than that system allows.

One of the biggest issues with the Archicad system is the small UI window within the selection settings palette. It is old, outdated and difficult to navigate all the parameters of the more complex objects. If the parameters of selected elements/objects were exposed & adjustable externally then better UI's could be created using any software building system chosen.

So the end result of this 2 way external link would be fully custom UI's for objects that appear when that object is selected. UI's that are bigger, more intuitive, employ more visuals, include sliders/rotators. These UI's would be specifically built and called based on the object being selected. This could also allow parameters currently calculated inside the GDL script to be calculated externally and dealt with as just another live parameter.

If the external 2 way file was a standard file format .txt/.xml etc then any number of software options could be used to create these external UI's opening up access to the multitude of developers who work with these systems.